According to www.dailyfaceoff.com, the predicted forward lines next season for the Devils will be:

1st Line

Henrique-Elias-Palmieri

2nd Line

Cammalleri-Zajac-Zubrus

3rd Line

Boucher-Josefson-Matteau

4th Line

Ruutu-Gionta-Tootoo

Let’s analyze line by line. For the 1st line of Adam Henrique, Patrick Elias, and Kyle Palmieri, I think that the line is not bad. Henrique and Palmieri are good for a first line. Elias is getting too old for me to be on a first line. He is 39 and I think he hasn’t been producing for the last 3 seasons. His last good season was 2011-12 when he had 78 points. If anything, I think the Devils should try to move him. It might be hard because he is so old and some teams might not want to take on his contract. Possible teams that might be interested are the Panthers, Sabres.

For the 2nd line of Mike Cammalleri, Travis Zajac, and Dainius Zubrus, I think that Cammalleri is just fine on the second line and could even play on the first line. Although Zajac does take good faceoffs, he hasn’t been producing to expectations and there are better fits like maybe Tyler Bozak for the position. Devils fans know that Zubrus is just plain awful. He doesn’t perform and I think he is just lazy on the ice. Maybe 1 or 2 goals here and there but that’s all you’re gonna get.

For the 3rd line of Reid Boucher, Jacob Josefson, and Stefan Matteau, I think that putting Boucher and Matteau on the 3rd line is perfect. Matteau and Boucher have had a lot of time to develop and are still close to getting to their full potential, but for now the situation is just fine. Josefson is a natural 3rd liner, and is one of the better ones the Devils have and we all remember the shootout goal against the Winnipeg Jets, which was outstanding in my opinion.

For the 4th Line of Tuomo Ruutu, Stephen Gionta, and Jordin Tootoo, I think that it is just fine. You have Ruutu that still has some grit left in him, you have Gionta who can kill penalties and is a great forechecker, and then you have Tootoo who gets in the dirty areas and finishes hard, clean checks. Overall, I really like the 4th line and I also think we have one of the best 4th lines in the NHL.

Those were my insights on the projected lines for the 2015-16 season. Leave any questions/comments below!

